TeachingIFRS.com - About TeachingIFRS.com

Back to Home Page

Norbert Tschakert is an Associate Professor of Accounting at Salem State University in the Bertolon School of Business. He serves as an Editorial Board Member for Issues in Accounting Education (IAE), Journal of Forensic Accounting Research (JFAR), and the Journal of Accounting Education (JAEd). Norbert received the 2015 Massachusetts Society of Certified Public Accountants Outstanding Educator of the Year Award and the 2015 Salem State University Accounting Association Professor of the Year Award. Besides holding IFRS certifications from the ICAEW and ACCA, Norbert is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) in CA, Certified Management Accountant (CMA), Certified Internal Auditor (CIA), Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE), Certified Information Technology Professional (CITP), and he is Certified in Financial Forensics (CFF). Norbert earned his Ph.D. in Accounting from the Helmut Schmidt University in Hamburg, Germany, where he researched and published on IFRS adoption issues.

Mark Holtzblattis an Associate Professor of Accounting at Cleveland State University in the Monte Ahuja College of Business, teaching International Accounting at the graduate and undergraduate levels. He has multiple IFRS certifications from the AICPA, ICAEW, and ACCA.  Mark is the recipient of the 2013 Accounting Professor of the Year Award, Cleveland State University; 2011 Outstanding Accounting Department Alumni Honoree Award at the University of Arkansas; and is a 3-time finalist for the AICPA/FSA Mark Chain Innovation in Graduate Teaching Award (2009, 2012 and 2013). He serves on the Editorial Review Boards of Issues in Accounting Education (IAE), and the Journal of Accounting Education (JAEd). Mark’s latest articles have been published in Management Accounting Quarterly (IMA) and International Tax Journal (CCH). Mark earned his Ph.D. in Accounting from the University of Arkansas and he is a CPA in Illinois.

2011 AAA Innovation in Accounting Education Award, Denver, CO
Ellen Glazerman (EY Foundation), Norbert Tschakert, Mark Holtzblatt, Don Wygal (Chair of the Award Committee)

Norbert Tschakert and Mark Holtzblatt are recipients of the 2015 AAA TLC Outstanding Accounting Education Research Award, the 2011 AAA Innovation in Accounting Education Award and the 2010 CAAA Howard Teall Innovation in Accounting Education Award. Videos of the IFRS Student Video Competition are available at http://vimeo.com/ifrs. Their work has been supported by grants from the Purdue University CIBER and PricewaterhouseCoopers to research the use of technology in teaching IFRS. Their latest work has been published in Issues in Accounting Education (AAA), Accounting Education: An International Journal (IAAER), Journal of Accounting Education (Elsevier), Advances in Accounting Education: Teaching and Curriculum Innovations (Emerald), and the 2012 book entitled Teaching IFRS (Routledge).

We have created TeachingIFRS.com to facilitate access by accounting educators to continuously updated and innovative resources on teaching IFRS. For our work on TeachingIFRS.com, we have received the honorable mention for the 2012 AICPA Mark Chain/Federation of Schools of Accountancy Innovation in Graduate Teaching Award.

Any comments, revisions or suggestions are much appreciated.  Please email to info@teachingifrs.com.  Thank you.